NOTICE

At the time of publication, all recipes were free of the allergens listed as being free of in the title (i.e. soy-free, milk-free, etc.), and all other information shared was accurate to the best of my knowledge. Though I strive to update outdated information quickly and work diligently to make sure you have the most accurate information possible at all times, it is your duty to double check labels EVERY TIME to ensure that the ingredients you use are SAFE FOR YOU. DO NOT RELY SOLELY ON THIS INFORMATION AS INGREDIENTS AND INFORMATION DO CHANGE. Your doctor or allergist should also be your first go-to for information on how to handle your medical needs. That being said, if you DO notice an error, please send me an email letting me know (tell me what page or recipe the error is on, what the error is, etc.), and I will correct the error ASAP. Thank you so much!

Print This Page/Recipe

Print Friendly and PDF

Alternative Names for Gluten and Wheat/Gluten-Free Pages/Links



Note:
This content was accurate at the time of posting, but it is possible that it is outdated at the time of your viewing.  Please, do NOT let this information replace the advice of your doctor/allergist.  ALWAYS follow their instructions and recommendations over mine.  

Also,
CHECK LABELS EVERY TIME, EVEN IF YOU'VE BOUGHT A PRODUCT A MILLION TIMES BEFORE!

Ingredients change often, companies change hands, and policies change.  What once was safe, can now be unsafe.  For your own health and safety, please make it a habit of ALWAYS reading the ingredients of EVERYTHING before you buy it.

Also, if you notice that I have a product listed as "safe" for your particular allergen/sensitivity needs, PLEASE let me know so that I can update my information.  I strive to keep things current, but I do miss things from time to time.  Your help in this matter is invaluable to provide the most current information to my readers.  

Thank you so much!
Image by Grant Cochrane from freedigitalphotos.net
Alternative Names for Gluten or Derivatives of Gluten-Containing Grains

1. Wheat or ANYTHING with "wheat" in the name (Note: Buckwheat is NOT wheat and is gluten-free.  However, cross-contamination can occur, so please make sure your buckwheat is labeled as "gluten-free", and check with your allergist before adding buckwheat to your diet.  Also, wheat grass is considered gluten-free in most cases, but cross-contamination can occur, so please make sure to check with your allergist before consuming wheat grass.)
 
2. Flour
 
3. Bulgur (a form of wheat)
 
4. Semolina
 
5. Spelt
 
6. Frumento
 
7. Durum or Duram
 
8. Kamut (pasta wheat)
 
9. Graham
 
10. Einkorn
 
11. Farina (made from wheat)
 
12. Couscous (made from wheat)
 
13. Seitan (made from wheat gluten)
 
14. Matzoh
 
15. Matzah
 
16. Matzo
 
17. Cake flour
 
18. Malt (made from barley)
 
19. Triticale
 
20. Barley
 
21. Abyssinian Hard
 
22. Alcohol/Spirits/Beer
 
23. Bran
 
24. Brewer's Yeast
 
25. Cereal Binding
 
26. Chilton
 
27. Cookie Crumbs or Dough
 
28. Criped Rice
 
29. Dinkle
 
30. Edible Coatings, Films or Starch
 
31. Emmer
 
32. Farro
 
33. Filler
 
34. Fu (dried wheat gluten)
 
35. Germ
 
36. Groats (barley, wheat)
 
37. Hing
 
38. ANYTHING with Hordeum Vulgare in the name (barley)
 
39. Kecap Manis (Soy Sauce)
 
40. Ketjap Manis (Soy Sauce)
 
41. Kluski pasta
 
42. Maida (Indian wheat flour)
 
43. Matza
 
44. Meringue
 
45. Meripro 711
 
46. Mir
 
47. Nishasta
 
48. ANYTHING with Triticum in the name
 
49. Orzo
 
50. Pasta* (made from wheat unless it says gluten-free or wheat-free on the label)
 
51. Perungayam
 
52. Rice Malt (if barley or Koji are used)
 
53. Roux
 
54. Rusk
 
55. Rye
 
56. Suet in packets
 
57. Tabbouleh
 
58. Tabouli
 
59. Teriyaki Sauce
 
60. Triticale X triticosecale
 
61. Udon (wheat noodles)
 
62. Artifical Color*
 
63. Baking Powder*
 
64. Caramel Color*
 
65. Caramel Flavoring*
 
66. Clarifying Agents*
 
67. Coloring*
 
68. Dextrin or Dextrins* (can be made from wheat)
 
69. Dextrimaltose*
 
70. Dry Roasted Nuts*
 
71. Emulsifiers*
 
72. Enzymes*
 
73. Fat Replacer*
 
74. Flavoring*
 
75. Food Starch*
 
76. Food Starch Modified*
 
77. Glucose Syrup*
 
78. Gravy Cubes*
 
79. Ground Spices*
 
80. HPP*
 
81. HVP*
 
82. Hydrolyzed Plant Protein*
 
83. Hydrolyzed Protein*
 
84. Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein*
 
85. Hydrogenated Starch Hydrolysate*
 
86. Hydroxypropylated Starch*
 
87. Maltose*
 
88. Miso*
 
89. Mixed Tocopherols*
 
90. Modified Food Starch*
 
91. Modified Starch*
 
92. Natural Flavoring*
 
93. Natural Flavors*
 
94. Natural Juices*
 
95. Non-dairy Creamer*
 
96. Pregelatinized Starch*
 
97. Protein Hydrolysates*
 
98. Seafood Analogs*
 
99. Seasonings*
 
100. Sirimi*
 
101. Smoke Flavoring*
 
102. Soba Noodles*
 
103. Soy Sauce*
 
104. Soy Sauce Solids*
 
105. Sphingolipids*
 
106. Stabilizers*
 
107. Starch*
 
108. Stock Cubes*
 
109. Suet*
 
110. Tocopherols*
 
111. Vegetable Broth*
 
112. Vegetable Gum*
 
113. Vegetable Protein*
 
114. Vegetable Starch*
 
115. Vitamins*
 
116. Wheat Starch*

117. Oats that don't say gluten-free*
  

118. ANYTHING with Avena Sativa in the name

119. Cocodimonium Hydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein

120. Cyclodextrin

121. Dextrin Palmitate

122. Disodium Wheatgermamphodiacetate

123. Hydrolyzed Malt Extract

124. ANYTHING with Oat in the name that doesn't say gluten-free*

125. Malt Extract

126. Maltodextrin* (can be made from wheat)

127. ANYTHING with Secale Cereale in the name (rye)

128. Sodium C8-16 Isoalkylsuccinyl Wheat Protein Sulfonate

129. Sodium Lauroyl Oat Amino Acid

130.  ANYTHING with Triticum Vulgare in the name (wheat)

131. Wheatgermamidopropyl Ethyldimonium Ethosulfate

132. Yeast Extract*

133. Triticum spelta (spelt, a form of wheat)

134. Wheat protein/hydrolyzed wheat protein

135. hydrolyzed wheat starch 

136. Wheat flour/bread flour/bleached flour 

137. Wheat grass* (cross-contamination risk)

138. Barley grass* (cross-contamination risk)

139.  Wheat germ oil or extract* (cross-contamination risk)

140. Artificial flavor/artificial flavoring* (may come from barley)


The starred items denote foods that do not necessarily contain gluten. Check labels or contact manufacturers to make sure that it is gluten-free before consuming the product.

Also, the following non-food items can contain wheat/gluten:



  • Play-Doh 

  • Finger paint (such as Elmer's)
  • Craft paste
  • Bird seed
  • Paper Mache
  • Soaps, hand sanitizers, lotions, body washes, etc. (Bath & Body Works hand sanitizers contain "wheat amino acids" and so do some of their other products.  Read all of their product labels very carefully before purchasing, and consider avoiding their products completely if you have Celiac's disease or a very severe wheat/gluten allergy.)
  • Toothpastes and other oral hygiene products
  • Other "non-toxic" art supplies
  • Cereal Boxes



  • I'm sure you can find gluten/wheat in at least one brand or type of non-food products, so make sure you check labels on ALL items, food and non-food, for wheat/gluten before use!  It is always better to be safe than sorry!

    For more information see: Gluten-Free Know-How: What Are Other Names for Wheat?  and Celiac.com,  specifically this article.

    Soy And Gluten Free Beauty is yet another good place to go for gluten-free information, especially gluten-free (and soy-free) beauty products. She also let's me share what she finds on my site (Thanks, Sheena! :) ).  A good portion of this list I got from her.





    Here is a list of helpful Wheat/Gluten-Free pages and links. I will add more as I find them.


    "As of this date, all of our BUSH'S BEST products are gluten-free.
    We are pleased to inform you that as of May 2010 our Chili Beans products and our Chili Magic Chili Starter products no longer contain wheat flour; therefore, changing the ingredient statement on these products to now state Modified Corn Starch. Due to store inventory rotation and other elements beyond our control, we still urge you to check the labels before consuming these products if you have gluten restrictions.
    We do use corn starch in some of our products, but it does not contain gliadin gluten from wheat, barley, oats or rye grains which may cause adverse responses in persons suffering from Celiac Sprue. In addition, any vinegar used in our products is corn-based and distilled." 
         
    • Nestle's response to allergen labeling as received via email:

      "Labeling regulations require that if any of the eight recognized known allergens, such as soy, are in the product, they must be listed in the ingredient statement. We always list the allergen by the common name.

     Additionally, our factories, that use any of the recognized allergens as an ingredient, take all precautions to avoid cross contact of products that do not contain them. We always add a cautionary statement at the end of our packaging ingredient listing if a product is made on the same line or factory of those products containing a recognized allergen. It is recommended that you always check the label before purchasing a product."


    •  Campbell's response to allergen labeling as received via email:

     "The Campbell Soup Company follows all government regulations regarding the labeling of our products.  In the case of the top 8 allergens (peanuts, tree nuts, dairy, eggs, fish, wheat, soy and shellfish) we list those ingredients in the product ingredient statement, no matter how small the amount might be.  We do not include any of those items under the broader listings of "spices" or "natural flavors".  We recommend that consumers always check the ingredient statement and evaluate the product based on the statement.

    In regards to possible cross contact between products, we use an extensive and effective sanitation procedure in between different processing operations, and efforts are made to prevent any possible cross contact to the greatest practical extent."


    • Coffee-mate's response to my question about if their Natural Bliss products were free of soy, tree nuts/peanuts, wheat, fish/seafood and soy (it does contain milk):
      "Thank you for taking the time to contact Nestlé® Coffee-mate® Non-Dairy Creamer regarding your concern if the product is soy, gluten, nut and egg free. We welcome questions and comments from loyal consumers such as yourself and appreciate this opportunity to assist you.
      Our Natural Bliss does not contain any allergens. Labeling regulations require that the eight recognized major food allergens always be listed in the ingredient statement if they are in the product, regardless of the amount. We always list these food allergens by their common name. Always check the label for the most current information before purchasing a product.Factories that use an ingredient coming from one of these eight allergens take all needed precautions to avoid cross contact with products that do not normally contain these allergens.If a product that does not contain one of the known allergens, but is made on the same line as one that does and/or in the same facility with potential for cross contact, we will add an advisory statement at the end of the ingredient listing.If an allergen does not appear in the ingredient statement, then it has NOT been added to the product.At Nestlé, we are dedicated to you and your family throughout every phase of your lives. Your feedback is valuable to us, as it helps us to improve our products and services.
      We appreciate your interest in our products and hope you will visit our website often for the latest information on our products and promotions."
         
    •  Hugo Naturals Products are soy-free, vegan and gluten-free.  Here is their allergen statement from their website:
      "The only products that contain oats in our entire line are the Shea Butter & Oatmeal Bar Soap and the Oatmeal Mint Artisan-Bulk Soap.  Both of these products have whole oats on the top surface that have been tested and certified gluten free.  If your allergies are with wheat, the oats have not been cross contaminated.  If you choose to incorporate oats, our soaps would be a good choice.  The rest of our entire product line is soy, oat and gluten-free, as well as vegan.  As a matter of fact, we are certified by the Celiac Sprue Association, or CSA, which is the largest celiac support organization in the United States."
        
    • Zuzu Luxe make-up is gluten-free, soy-free, and in other ways allergy-friendly as well.  They are also organic.
        
    • Puritan's Pride has a lot of vitamins that are gluten-free and/or otherwise allergy friendly.
        
    • iMenus is an up and coming allergy-friendly restaurant app.   According to their website, iMenus will list "all nutrition and ingredient information for each restaurant menu item".  It appears to still be in the funding/testing phase, but I do hope that it is active soon!  Check it out for more information and to offer support if you wish.
         
    • Alaffia products claim to be gluten and soy-free.
        
    • Buiced claims to have vitamins that are non-GMO, gluten-free, soy-free, dairy-free, nut-free, and caffeine-free.  Basically, they say their product is top 8 free.
        
    • Eating Gluten-Free for Health This is a great article with lots of resources in it!  Definitely worth reading and looking at, especially if you are new to a gluten-free diet or in need of more information.
         
    • RMS Beauty only has one product that contains gluten, and is also soy-free.  Click this link to view their ingredient statement. 
        
    • Red Apple Cosmetics is certified gluten-free, and also has many soy-free products, and is great with their labeling.
         
    • Some Laura Mercier products are certified as gluten-free, some of which are also soy-free.  For more information, click here.
        
    • Orrington Farms - All of their gravy mixes, soup bases, etc.  are gluten-free, but they all also contain a lot of bad things, including some containing dairy, yeast extract, soybean oil and/or maltodextrin.
         
    • Ceela Naturals has "gluten, soy, nut, dairy, cruelty free vegan skin care".  To read my review on some of these products, go here.


    If you come across any good gluten-free sites, please feel free to pass them onto me (via comment below or emailing me) and I will add them to my list. Thank you!





    This page was submitted to the following:
     realfoodallergyfree




    24 comments:

    1. What a great resource!!! I have this tweeted and pinned! Thanks for linking up at Gluten Free Fridays! See you next week :)
      Cindy from vegetarianmamma.com

      ReplyDelete
      Replies
      1. You're welcome as always. I hope this proves helpful to your readers.

        Delete
    2. Boy do I need this! I would love it if you visited my new Gluten-Free Monday party at OneCreativeMommy.com and linked up this and any other idea you would like to share. I hope to see you there.

      ReplyDelete
      Replies
      1. Not a problem! I'd love to join, and I'll add you to my reading list and links. :)

        Delete
    3. Congratulations! This helpful post was the most-clicked link, and will be featured today on Gluten-Free Monday at OneCreativeMommy.com. Please stop by and grab a featured button if you’d like. I can’t wait to see what you link up this week!

      ReplyDelete
      Replies
      1. Thanks so much, Heidi! It is an honor. :) Looking forward to linking up again.

        Delete
    4. Visiting from SITS ~ Paula
      http://www.callmepmc.com/

      ReplyDelete
    5. Stopping by from the SITS site! Great list! In my family, we have many dietary restrictions and preferences too. Trader Joe's has an allergen list available for their products which I've found helpful (their green juice has wheat in it--who knew?). I also wanted to add that some oatmeal may contain gluten (make sure it says gluten-free) because some of the oat crops may have been grown near wheat crops--or they are processed in a facility that also processes wheat.

      ReplyDelete
      Replies
      1. I added that to my list! I had read that about oats, and a lot of people with Celiac's avoid oats regardless of whether or not they say gluten-free (cross-reactive issues). This is why I say things are wheat-free, but not gluten-free in my recipes where it applies. I know that just because you didn't add wheat, doesn't mean it's gluten-free unless you make sure all your ingredients are. Thanks for pointing this out! :)

        I'll check out Trader Joe's Website and see if I can find their allergen list and link to it! Thanks for that!

        Delete
    6. Wow! What a great list! Going to pin this for future reference. I have many friends and family members that are allergic to gluten and wheat! Happy SITS Day!

      ReplyDelete
      Replies
      1. Awesome and thanks! Hope this will help you all very much! :)

        Delete
    7. Happy SITS Day! What an amazing list you have compiled. I have several Celiac's in my family and I have a mild intolerance to gluten, so this list is getting sent to everyone and will be accompanying is on our shopping trips.

      www.amothersdesign.com

      ReplyDelete
      Replies
      1. I am so glad it can help you all! :) Let me know if I'm missing anything or if you find any great sites or info that I should add! The more I can share, the more I can help, which is always a plus! :)

        Have a great day and thanks for stopping by!

        Delete
    8. I've only known about my gluten and wheat intolerance for 5 months. Thank you for the list and the links. Enjoy your SITS Day.

      ReplyDelete
      Replies
      1. You are so welcome, Sheila! I hope they help! *hugs to you*

        Delete
    9. Seriously- what a SITE you have here!!! I am amazed with all this information. Sharing sharing sharing!!! I want to fb friend you but having trouble finding your fb page. Will keep trying Julie!! :)

      ReplyDelete
      Replies
      1. That's so odd! My page should show up when you click on the Facebook link on the side. If you're still having trouble, send me an email, and I'll get you hooked up. :)

        Thanks for passing on the info to those who need it! :)

        Delete
    10. Bookmarking this! Thanks for this great resource.

      ReplyDelete
    11. WoW!!! What a great resource and comprehensive list!! Thank you SITStah!! :)

      ReplyDelete
      Replies
      1. Thanks, Nicole, and you're welcome! :)

        Delete
    12. Just shared this page with my BFF who recently decided to put her daughter on a gluten-free diet. Thanks for the info, and happy SITS day!

      ReplyDelete
      Replies
      1. I hope it is of great help to her! Let her know that if she has any questions, comments or concerns, she can email me at any time and I'll do what I can to help.

        Thanks for stopping by and for the well wishes. :)

        Delete

    Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Feel free to leave a message or email me directly (See the "Contacting Me" page for more information on how to do this.).

    Please note that all comments must be approved before they are published, and no anonymous comments are allowed due to a major increase in spam comments (you can email me if you don't want to leave a public comment). I'm sorry for any inconvenience this may cause you.

    Thanks for reading me! I love to hear from my readers so keep the comments/emails coming! :)